Federal CIO Certificate Program

The National Defense University offers several interesting certification programs for federal IT managers in IT management. The CIO Certificate Program requires coursework in eleven areas:

  1. Policy
  2. Information Resources Strategic Planning
  3. Leadership/Management
  4. Process Improvement
  5. Capital Planning and Investment
  6. Performance and Results Based Management
  7. Technology Assessment
  8. Architectures and Infrastructures
  9. Security and Assurance
  10. Acquisition
  11. eGovernment/eBusiness

The eGovernment Certificate Program requires coursework in eight areas:

  1. Policy
  2. Planning and Organization
  3. Change Management
  4. Architecture and Enterprise Integration
  5. Financial Resources
  6. Performance Management
  7. Security and Privacy
  8. Human Capital or Information and Knowledge Resources

These courses are necessarily focused on the needs of the Federal government, but state and local IT managers can sign up on a space available basis.

Don't overlook training and education as a means of changing your organization. If you want to change the culture of your organization, focus on creating training courses for your managers that teach them the principals you want in the new organization. I wish I'd concentrated more on this when I was CIO for Utah. We did some of this by establishing the Product Management Council which has done a great job at educating a whole crew of eGovernment product managers inside Utah state government. We could have done much more, especially on the IT management side. The best way to manage change in an organization is through education.

Please leave comments using the Hypothes.is sidebar.

Last modified: Thu Oct 10 12:47:20 2019.